The Africa Construction Law (ACL) Awards are designed to showcase and promote practitioners involved in construction-related disputes and practice across Africa. The award is open to both members and non-members of the ACL except members of the ACL Board of Directors and award selection committee. Scrutiny of nominations will be carried out by the Panel of Judges in such manner and subject to such criteria as it in its absolute discretion determines. Finalists will be notified and required to attend the ACL Gala Dinner.



For the selection process, the judges will be scoring the candidates on a number of factors including:

• satisfaction of the individual criteria for the selected category;

thought leadership, achievements, and initiatives;

• supporting evidence; and

• uniqueness of the application compared to other applications.

All nomination forms are to be submitted and must be received no later than 27 April 2024 in order to be considered. Candidates must commit to attend the ACL Gala Dinner on 3 June 2024 in Nairobi, Kenya to receive the award in the event they are named as the winner of their category

Award Categories

1. ACL Scholar of the Year award

Call for papers – Building Resilience and Sustainability in Africa’s Construction Sector – deadline 24 April 2024

The Fourth Edition of the Africa Construction Law Conference will be held 3-4 June 2024 in Nairobi, Kenya. Authors are encouraged to submit their original work setting out their innovative research and conclusions on the critically important matter of resilience and sustainability in Africa’s construction sector. The conference seeks papers on all aspects of the role played and to be played by construction law in promoting better resilience and sustainability in construction and infrastructure projects on the continent.

Submissions should be sent to and the deadline for submission of papers is 21 April 2024.

The winning submission will be named the “ACL Scholar of the year” at the upcoming ACL Gala dinner (part of the ACL conference) on 3 June 2024 in Nairobi, Kenya.

2. ACL Rising star of the Year award

This prize celebrates the most promising and talented young professional in the African construction sector. The award recognizes the achievements, potential, and leadership of the nominee. The award is open to lawyers, engineers, architects, quantity surveyors, project managers, and other professionals who work in the construction sector. .

Eligibility criteria
  • Nominees must be Africans and/or resident in an African country;
  • 40 years or under as at 3 June 2024;
  • Minimum of 3 years experience in the construction sector;
  • Contributed to the development of Africa’s construction sector including by writing articles and presenting at trainings and conferences in Africa;  
  • Leadership ability and contribution to the success of their organisation.
  • One written reference from an executive from within your firm/organisation.


3. Lifetime Achiever Award

This award category recognises a professional who over the course of the individual’s careerhas made significant contributions to the development and practice of construction in Africa. The award reflects the nominee’s outstanding leadership and sustained contributions, achievements, and legacy in the sector

Entries are not required for this category. The winner will be announced at the ACL Gala Dinner.

4. Africa Construction law Team of the Year.

This award category recognises African law firms with extensive and exceptional experience helping clients navigate the construction sector in Africa.

Eligibility criteria
  • The firm must be headquartered in Africa;
  • Evidence of doing quality work in Africa’s construction sector. Submissions should highlight client wins, deals and initiatives that show the firm’s performance in the sector.
  • Contributed to employee development;
  • Contributed to the wider development of Africa’s construction sector including by organising client trainings and capacity building initiatives.
For all questions, email:


ACL Awards Form 2024

Step 1 of 6